Pursuing natural health & thinking beyond the superficial. Deconstructing Culture.

Blog Theme Makeover

Today I just felt the urge to do a blog theme makeover and so I did it and then realized it’s been almost a year since I did the last one! Can you say synchronicity?

I thought I’d go for a sharper, young and hip look – something stylish for a fashion and beauty blog though still artistic.

For new readers and those that still like the last look here’s a screenshot:

FashionThatPaysTheme2

And here’s the last ‘blogiversary’ post I made which has some good points for those thinking about updating:

So it’s been almost a year since I started this blog and I’d been thinking for a while “the blog needs a new look, how can I update it, what should I do?” It went on like that for a while, a veritable mental block of um-ing and ah-ing, and a little trial and error. As my long term subscribers will know I’ve given the blog a face lift and made it more functional but I wanted a total makeover.

Then finally, during a Mercury retrograde prompt computer meltdown, I finally had enough and  decided “just do it!”

I could have gone through the whole process of Q&A in a quick checklist fashion, which would have gone something like this:

1) What do I want the blog/theme to look like?

2) What do I want it to express?

3) What would my readers like?

4) Do I need to change the WP theme?

5) How much detail do I want?

6) How long with the look last and will it stay relevant?

Blah blah blah etc etc

All very important questions and considerations, but I’d been thinking about those in bits and bobs over the aforementioned dawdling period and so pulled up my bootstraps, got my act together and just started drawing.

I knew what elements I wanted to keep and what I was generally going for, I just didn’t know how I was going to achieve it, but once I started, it naturally came together in one go. Usually I have a few options/variations of any design but strangely enough I like this the way it is and I think that in itself is auspicious, or so I hope. That’s how it was with the first theme too, it was a quick process yet adequately expressed where I was at that point as a first time blogger. It was individual, arty, abstract with lot’s a bight, harmonious colour in a vibrant display of enthusiasm – my blog was new and it felt new.

Anyway – this new look is a development on the old. A simpler, more polished  look yet still arty/fun, but cleaner. More focused. That doesn’t mean I know lots about blogging, but like the proverbial tortoise I’m steadily moving along and give thanks to my mother for being a constant inspiration and helper (and constant ‘most likely to give me a heart attack or breakdown at a young age’… ahem) :-)

Here’s how it looked before, though certain features such as the title and tag line were recently changed/added:

I probably haven’t finished the new look, as with anything it will need tweaking but I think that it’s basically good to go. Therefore welcome to my re-fashioned blog, I hope you like it.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,143 other followers

