Pursuing natural health & thinking beyond the superficial. Deconstructing Culture.

Hola mes amis, viva la Vendredi!  *Waves Friday flag* :-D

(I know that first sentence is a mish mash of languages and the syntax is haywire ^^’ )

Today I’m wearing a mixed outfit where technically the shirt and the vest are not fancy separates, however in essence my outfit reminds me of vintage days gone by and with the blazing bright Red and Yellow combo it makes me feel fancy :-)

Mum says I remind her of going to the park, balloons, poppies, lollipops, bubblegum, those balls you land in in adventure playgrounds, blowing bubbles, painting, joining up the dots, marbles; childish and whimsical things… As well as a washer woman.

The shirt is probably one of my oldest items of clothing (other than socks) that wasn’t a hand me down or vintage piece – I chose it (to be bought on my behalf) when I was about 12 I think, 11 or 12. Look how big it is! Seriously it didn’t seem big at the time. The vest is a simple separate which was inexpensive anyway but I think I got it for a clearance price approx 4-5 years ago and I got the skirt a little later as a cashback purchase. So bargain all round, as usual!

Red Yellow White Polka Dot Spot Vintage 50s 40s Inspired Pencil Skirt Vest Cami Denim Shirt

Red Yellow White Polka Dot Spot Vintage 50s 40s Inspired Pencil Skirt Vest Cami Denim Shirt

Red Yellow White Polka Dot Spot Vintage 50s 40s Inspired Pencil Skirt Vest Cami Denim Shirt

Red Yellow White Polka Dot Spot Vintage 50s 40s Inspired Pencil Skirt Vest Cami Denim Shirt

I’ll update this page later with links & pics of other bloggers I see celebrating Fancy Friday :-)

Vanessa at NessBow

I'm totally feelin' Vanessa's comfortable yet complimentary fitted clothes today (having an 'on sync' day :-D ). Yet she made the outfit very fancy and charming with her grandmother's beautiful earrings - love the sentiment and that can definitely make you feel fancy :-)

I’m totally feelin’ Vanessa’s comfortable yet complimentary fitted clothes today (having an ‘on sync’ day :-D ). Yet she made the outfit very fancy and charming with her grandmother’s beautiful earrings – love the sentiment and that can definitely make you feel fancy :-)

Shaaz at MizShaazStyle

Another lady with whom I'm sharing a style synchronization today! :-D We both went for bright Yellow in combination with another bright colour and I absolutely love the poses in her post! She can also make jeans/denim fancier than thought possible!

Another lady with whom I’m sharing a style synchronization today! :-D We both went for bright Yellow in combination with another bright colour and I absolutely love the poses in her post! She can also make jeans fancier than generally thought possible!

Camila at TheGeekChickBlog

Having some neon fun before Spring Break Camila decided to 'go bold or go home' (I remember she said something like that before and I loved it :-D ) Wearing  Red too and framed beautifully with Black - she's lookin' well and truly ready for her holiday!

Having some neon fun before Spring Break Camila decided to ‘go bold or go home’ (I remember she said something like that before and I loved it :-D ) Wearing Red too and framed beautifully with Black – she’s lookin’ well and truly ready for her holiday!

Maricel at MyClosetCatalogue

Looking very warm weathery today in pastels and floral she's certainly bright with a spring in her step! Loving the kimono and capris combination!

Looking very warm weathery today in pastels and floral she’s certainly bright with a spring in her step! Loving the kimono and capris combination and of course the colours!

Leah at MorningInk

Showing us that lines/pattern, texture and colour can go perfectly hand in hand in harmony with this lovely (and perhaps a bit nautical? :-) ) outfit. It's framed well between the necklace and shoes and considering many women worry about wearing horizontal stripes yet Leah's post shows us that they are great and very feminine on skirts!

Showing us that lines/pattern, texture and colour can go perfectly hand in hand in harmony with this lovely (and perhaps a bit nautical? :-) ) outfit. Another eye opener are the horizontal stripes, considering many women worry about wearing them Leah’s post shows us that they are lovely and very feminine on skirts!

AND special mention to…

MAMA :-D who actually let me take photos of her today whilst she was getting ready heh heh heh :o :| XD

In her twist to the usual business suit with blouse and waistcoat, she transformed it into a going out/dressy suit with corset and accessories (though I didn’t get a pic once she’d straightened her hair and put her blazer back on – she’s way too quick for me.) She’s always been massively into alternative style especially goth and punk.

Mother Goddess Lalita Kali Isis Red Mama

Mother Goddess Lalita Kali Isis Red Mama

Mother Goddess Lalita Kali Isis Red Mama

Comments on: "OOTD: Fancy Friday – For the love of Polka Dots!" (12)

  1. You look like a character from the movie Clueless. I like it~

  2. I love your skirt! So beautiful!!

  3. Nice!! love this outfit! Love the colors, and the red polka dot skirt- i want!! lol… xo

  4. […] Linking :: Remix Rewear Restyle @ Greater than Rubies Fancy Friday @ Substance AND […]

  5. mtsedwards said:

    You and your mom are like Wonder Twin Powers – activate! Now I see where you get your flair and pizazz.

  6. Whoa! You and your mom look almost exactly alike. Y’all have such cool style. My mom and I never even came close to dressing similarly so I love seeing the two of you share a love of corsets and gothic charm.

    My Fancy Friday post is up!

    http://www.morningink.com/

    • Similarities can run deep, if you have a deep bond then you look alike on the inside :-) Interestingly enough that parent/child bond manifests itself in human/animal companions as well with the whole ‘the pet looks/acts like the person’ or vice versa saying :-) One of my parrots even manages to grow ‘spots’ (colour of feathers) when I have pimples, which I have regularly and his patches change to match! I’ve definitely seen deep relationships/friendships cause those involved to become very similar in certain ways. Thank you so much for your compliment, I appreciate it.

  7. That’s so awesome that your mother let you take her picture. You’re definitely your mother’s daughter!
    I’m absolutely loving the polka dots on your skirt. Gorgeous!

    • Thanks Vanessa, that’s really sweet of you and yeah it was a rare moment lol, I don’t know if I’d let someone take pics of me getting ready! :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,145 other followers

