Pursuing natural health & thinking beyond the superficial. Deconstructing Culture.

Neal’s Yard Moisturisers

Power Berry and Orange Flower

Neal’s Yard is a top ethically inspired cosmetic UK brand using other UK companies for testing and manufacturing. They have their fair share of awards and a firm believer in organic and natural ingredients. They’ve been around for 30 years and advocate cruelty free experimentation, support many causes and believe in benefits of herbs for health and well being. They aren’t a high street brand but they are well renowned and are better than Lush in my opinion, though I love Lush and their ‘unique, fun’ feel, I appreciate Neal’s Yards serious approach and that they don’t compromise on their products for the sake of distinctive image. They don’t use petrochemicals, SLS, mineral oil (paraffin), synthetic perfumes, silicones, unnatural preservatives, parabens or phthalates. Remember that those ingredients can cause skin irritation so if you have sensitive skin or if you don’t want ingredients that your skin can’t process it’s always good to keep an eye on the label or these brands that are committed to high quality. They do use plastic packaging for their products but many benefit from their trademark blue bottles; blue glass and dark glass in general act as a filter for UV and preserve oils for longer (cooking oils also) and prevent the leeching of plastic chemicals into the product, plus the glass bottles are re-usable. http://www.nealsyardremedies.com

Products I bought:

1) Power Berry Daily Moisture 50ml – marketed as ‘lightweight, easily absorbed daily moisturising lotion containing antioxidant-rich acai, bilberry, goji berry and rosehip, supports the skin with hyaluronic acid to boost skin moisture levels, whilst a synergistic combination of buddleia and thyme, containing antioxidant flavonoids, and anti-inflammatory saponins and triterpenoids, acts as an anti pollutant to help combat ‘city stress’ and promote skin radiance and vitality.’

I just came across this mini 50ml version which will be handy for when I’m outside. I find this very hydrating and revitalising, and even though I don’t have sensitive skin my face can react unpleasantly to creams but I haven’t had any problems with this *fingers crossed*. I also find that I dehydrate quite easily so this is very helpful for my skin which feels quenched afterwards. Plus I love berry mixes though I will not be purchasing a full size as I am concerned about acai farming and for me any berries are fine I don’t need exotic ones.

2) Nourishing Orange Flower Daily Moisture 25ml – marketed as ‘Replenishes and protects dry skin. Nourishing neroli and antioxidant pomegranate oils intensely moisturise, soothe and protect dry skin in a light, easily absorbed lotion.’ This is a new one for me, and even though it’s a face cream I tried it on my hands earlier after cooking, combined it with some lemon juice and wow, very nice, soft hands and shiny nails, I’m going to try it on my face later too. Citrus is very good for when your skin is being troublesome e.g. lemon for gently clearing blemishes and reducing spots and orange for moisturising.

Neal’s Yard products come as part of a range or skincare regime, so ‘power berry’ is the name of a line of products which work together for a total routine but if you have good skin and are young you don’t really need to do all that. I personally use specific items but for general use lol and many of the products are complimentary to each other anyway.

On a sidenote for anyone in or visiting London – Neal’s Yard’s flagship store is just off (but still part of) Covent Garden in a very colourful little courtyard along with several health food cafes/restaurants (all behind a big Holland & Barrett). It really is a delightful area and nice for sightseeing.

Leave a Reply

