Pursuing natural health & thinking beyond the superficial. Deconstructing Culture.

A’Kin 24 Hour Leave-In Conditioner and Intensive Moisture Vitamin Masque

Don’t you just love it when you discover a shop near one of your usual locales like home or work has a whole range of a brand you like and isn’t always easy to find? Well I discovered A’kin that way in a pharmacy near my workplace 2-3 years ago and have been a fan since and if I can’t find what I’m looking for I can always buy online. A’kin is a an Australian brand from The Purist Company http://www.purist.com and from their own products it says:

‘A’kin products are free from sulphates, ethoxylates, parabens, propylene glycol, petrochemical cleansers, phthalates, DEA, silicones and artificial colours. A’kin products are ingredient rich, vegan, using organic ingredients where possible, 100% natural botanical aromatherapy and formulated without animal ingredients or animal testing.’

I mention this because as a long term vegan I’ve noticed that more and more people are becoming aware of what goes into their products and the cruelty free or animal free labels.

Ok so on to the products :)! Firstly, I intended to only top up on their ‘Lavender & Anthyllis 24 Hour Intensive Moisture Leave-In Conditioner for normal, dry and textured hair’ (so very versatile). Now when The Body Shop sold out to L’Oreal years ago and heavily reduced the sizes and upped the prices of their products as well as discontinued a bunch of favourites i.e. their Amlika Leave-In Hair Conditioner, it left me at a loss because I used that frequently. I have naturally curly coarse hair, it’s not rough but it’s thick and can be wiry (when I was little my mum used to put my hair in pigtails and I looked like Minnie Mouse lol and my aunt used to say I had bird’s nest hair) and I tend to use a lot of oil on it. However, the liquid/cream style conditioners are very helpful for quick maintenance and revitalisation when outside, so I tried lots of products until I found A’Kin 24 Leave-In Conditioner. It’s creamy, not watery and isn’t sticky or leaves a residue. It has a subtle smell but doesn’t make your hair smell like you’ve spritzed it with perfume.

It comes in 150ml squeezy containers and lasts a long time, I have long hair and it lasts because you don’t need to use much. It says on the front ‘Unique daily moisture care for all hair types with amino acids, anti-oxidants, herbal extracts & vitamins. Richly nurturing Australian jojoba & certified organic avocado oils add moisture & help defend your hair from heat styling & environmental damage. It will look smoother, shinier, curls defined, styles held longer, feel luxurious & soft.’ I can attest that it does what it says on the label. My only qualm is the ‘hydrolyzed wheat protein’ in the ingredients, even though it says GMO free I’m not a fan of hydrolysed and hydrogenated ingredients but like I said I use this as a quick fix and it’s still vastly superior to the ingredients/chemical formulations of mainstream/high street brands with things like formaldehyde in them. You also have to be aware that non-solid products such as creams, liquids, moisturisers/conditioners, shampoos etc will have to use some of the less favourable ingredients to give and sustain the liquid texture.

On to the second product! My friend has been moaning (um I mean pleasantly explaining) about her hair getting used to the products she uses and hence staying dry rather than getting the usual lustrous effect after the initial uses and quite frankly she was getting fed up. Now since I can’t rely on just getting my moisture from shampoo/conditioners and use other things after washing, when I saw A’kin ‘Ginkgo & Jojoba Intensive Moisture Vitamin Masque for hair that needs extra care’ I thought ‘hmm, she might like this’. Basically, after washing/drying your hair you put some of this in and leave for as little (5min) to as long (overnight) as you like and then wash out and style as usual. It says it can be used weekly. It also comes in a 150ml squeezy container and from what I know of their products a little should go a long way. It says on the front ‘Richly nurturing & caring ingredients such as pure Australian jojoba & certified avocado oils combine with ginkgo & white tea, vitamins E & B5, rice amino acids & wheat protein to help restore hair moisture & flexibility & maintain colours & perms. Your hair will look shiny, healthy & feel more smooth and manageable’. Sounds good eh!

As an extra bonus (since A’kin is delightful in itself) I received samples for ‘Ylang Ylang Shampoo for colour treated hair’ and ‘Macadamia & Wheat Protein treatment Conditioner for intensive care’. Never feel shy to ask for samples,  stockists/business buyers receive samples with their orders and it doesn’t hurt to ask if they have a sample of something.

Comments on: "A’Kin Hair Products – Conditioner & Vit Masque" (2)

  1. very nice post, i certainly love this website, keep on it

Leave a Reply

