Pursuing natural health & thinking beyond the superficial. Deconstructing Culture.

Aubrey Organics Swimmer’s Shampoo & Conditioner

I’m a big fan of Aubrey Organics, they’ve been around for 44 years and know what they’re doing, like it says on their products ‘100% natural since 1967’. They are against animal testing, they use biodegradable recyclable containers and many of their items are vegan. Their ingredient lists are also top notch, I find they use natural ways to overcome filler/bulking and solid to liquid issues, they don’t compromise on quality. They are a US based company and one of the best ‘known’ brands, though not mainstream/high street. I buy their products online from UK stockists.

Ok no:1) Swimmer’s Normalizing Shampoo for Active Lifestyles, ‘Gently removes chlorine, sale & perspiration to prevent dry, brittle hair’. The hair ‘type’ on the label is ‘Special Care – Stressed’. I’m not a swimmer but I first used this years ago after swimming on holiday and I have to say that my hair felt really clean after using this and I was worried about the impact of pool chemicals on my coloured blonde hair and recently done roots but I had no problems using this.  It also states on the bottle ‘Ideal for gray or blond hair. Safe for colour treated hair… Has your hair been overexposed? Sun, salt, chlorine and perspiration can take their toll on unprotected hair. Take cover from dryness and brittleness with this protective, PH-normalizing shampoo. Naturally removes chlorine, minerals and other impurities to neutralize odor, prevent discoloration and leave hair soft, rebalanced and revitalized’.

I’ve just bought this product again because I do a lot of exercise and it will be good to use after sweating. I find Aubrey shampoos very strong/stripping/cleansing so even though they recommend to shampoo twice and then condition I usually shampoo once. This particular shampoo features some of my favourite ingredients; coconut oil, shea butter, aloe vera and almond oil – excellent mix!

No:2) Swimmer’s Normalizing Conditioner for Active Lifestyles, ‘Protects & detangles to keep hair soft, healthy and shiny’. This works as most conditioners where you leave for 1-2min before rinsing or up to 15 min for deeper conditioning. After the strength of the shampoo, the conditioner is very welcoming and leaves my hair really soft. Both this and the shampoo are 325ml containers.

Additionally, I didn’t get to photograph them (as some have already been ‘borrowed’ and one’s in my bag somewhere) but I also got a bunch of samples including their Blue Chamomile Hydrating Shampoo, Green Tea & Ginkgo SPF15 Moisturiser for normal skin and Lumessence Eye Cream. Awesome! Aubrey is another company that gives samples to their buyers, and they are not tiny either so if you buy these from a stockist, don’t be afraid to ask.

Comments on: "Aubrey Organics Swimmer’s [Any activity] Shampoo & Conditioner" (4)

  1. I’m a newbie naturalist and have turned into a bit of a product junkie.. I love Aubrey Organics. The conditioner is everything….

  2. I’ve tried this stuff too… during the summer I was swimming at least 3 days a week and since I have long hair, the ends were really showing chlorine damage. I think this stuff works pretty well, but sometimes it left my hair a tiddly bit gummy. Not sure if there was some chemical reaction going on with the water or what. It wasn’t that big of deal… just a little bit annoying since it meant I had to either re-shower at home or have slightly-gummy hair all day.
    I’ve seen a lot of good reviews for this… so I think it might have just been me 😛

    • Hmm I’ve never had that reaction before unless I had something on my hair previously like oil but then again if you had an residue on your hair it would have probably washed off in the pool. The creamy texture itself has a very somewhat sticky feel to it so maybe that had something to do with it. The best shampoo/conditioner though is a mix of water, bicarbonate of soda and apple cider vinegar – leaves the hair beautifully clean and soft. Plus they’re cheap and have tons of uses 🙂

Leave a Reply

