Pursuing natural health & thinking beyond the superficial. Deconstructing Culture.

Dr Bronner Magic Castile Liquid 18 Soaps

LtoR – Almond, Rose, Citrus Orange, Tea Tree, Eucalyptus, Lavender, Peppermint.

Who doesn’t love Dr Bronner’s Magic Castile Soaps, from those who’ve tried them? (‘Castile’ refers to olive oil based soaps made in the same/similar style to that originally in Castile, Spain.)

Dr Bronner’s soaps are some of the best known all natural, environmentally friendly and vegan friendly soaps on the market. They have a ton of uses but are officially recorded to have ’18-in-1′ uses and are also packaged with the most unique labelling I’ve ever seen. There’s so much information packed onto the label template that there’s no space and it’s full of his philosophy, I don’t agree with all of it but it makes an interesting read.

I’ve used all seven of the classic ones with the Almond and Lavender being my favourites and the Rose and Tea Tree coming a close second. They share the ingredients below along with their title top note:

INGREDIENTS: Water, Saponified Organic Coconut*, Organic Palm* and Organic Olive* Oils (w/Retained Glycerin), Organic Hemp Oil, Organic Jojoba Oil, Essential Oils**, Citric Acid, Vitamin E

I like that they come in a variety of practical sizes, liquids and solid soaps, and are very good value for money both in price and quality – they are much more economical than many of the other healthy alternative soaps I’ve tried and last a long time. I initially found them too drying/strong for my skin when using ‘normal’ amounts but quickly realized a few drops were more than enough and cleaned just as well. They also have a rich and sizable amount of lather, which isn’t necessary in soap at all but it makes it easier for those trying natural soaps after having gotten used to commercial soaps that have synthetic ingredients added specifically to make lather. Basically, people have gotten used to it and like it so having it naturally is a bonus.

I find these soaps particularly helpful to take out with me in a small bottle or as refills. Before I was vegan I never liked the soaps at work or public places with their awful colours, textures, smells and questionable quality but was too lazy to take my own. Then I went vegan and had to take my own soap and found these ones beneficial.

What are the 18-in-1 uses?

Dr. Bronner recorded the “18 in 1 uses” on his label, which we have left mostly intact since his passing in 1997; however, people have told us many, many more uses for it than that. Here is his version.

Dr. Bronner’s version:Always dilute for Shave-Shampoo-Massage-Dental Soap-Bath! Peppermint is nature’s own unsurpassed fragrant Deodorant! A drop is best Mint Toothpaste; brushes Dentures Clean! A dash in water is the ideal Breath Freshener & Mouth Wash! Peppermint Oil Soap for Dispensers, Uniforms, Baby, Beach! Dilute for ideal After Shave, Body Rub, Foot Bath, Douche. Hot Towel-Massage the entire body, always towards your heart. Pets, silk, wool & body tingles head to toe – keeps cool! 3 dashes in water rinse most Sprays Off fruit & vegetables! 1/4 oz in qt H2O is Pest Spray! Dash, no rash Diaper-Soap!

Which of the recommendations have you tried and have you tried other ways? I’ve used them for hands/face, shower, shampoo, washing clothes and general household cleaning like surfaces. I love the idea of trying them on fruit/veg! I’ve never used the solid soap bars so would be interested in reading your views on those.

Renowned for their quality, versatility and eco-friendliness, Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soaps enjoyed a small but loyal following in the early years. In the late 1960s, however, soap sales started to explode, due to the unsurpassed ecological quality combined with Dr. Bronner’s urgent message to realize our transcendent unity across religious and ethnic divides. Word-of-mouth soon made Dr. Bronner’s the iconic soap of that era, and in the decades that followed the soaps spread into every health food store in the U.S. and then into the mainstream as well — winning over fans from all walks of life on the way to becoming the number-one-selling natural brand of soap in North America.

Link (if you want to know more about the history, look at the timeline tab it’s very interesting!)

dr-bronners-magic-castile-soap-lavender-amazondr-bronners-magic-castile-soap-citrus-orange-amazondr-bronners-magic-castile-soap-rose-amazondr-bronners-magic-castile-soap-tea-tree-amazon

Comments on: "Dr Bronner’s Magic Soaps – Which is your fave?" (8)

  1. I like your blog! Re: this particular post… I have a large bottle of the rose soap but can’t use it because it irritates my skin terribly. I’m don’t usually have sensitive skin, and can eat coconut without a problem, but I’ve been told that many people react badly to saponified coconut. So now I used savon de marseilles and love it.

    • Thank you, I’m glad you like it 🙂

      I’m not sure if I’ve heard that about saponified coconut before but it’s good to know and I remember they mention adding other ingredients to make up for that on the main website but I guess it hasn’t really rectified the issue for many people. I know that I found the soaps a bit abrasive to start with and I don’t have sensitive skin either but when I drastically reduced the amount I was using from a squirt to a few drops it was ok. I find it very concentrated.

      I’ve just read up a little on savon de marseilles and I’m really impressed! Thank you so much for mentioning them, they sound like very high quality and I love the rustic look of them. The prices for the 1kg size are good and I was amazed at the huge blocks they had! I’ve seen the liquid variety in stores and I might try some but I’m leaning towards a solid bar.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I have to go with the solid soap Eucalyptus bar of the Bronners. I mainly use it as a body wash/shampoo, but always bring it with me when I travel for washing clothes too.

    Great write up on these magical soaps!

  3. Reading the labels on these soaps is a lot of fun!

  4. Vibrant Bean said:

    I love love love the Lavender!

Leave a Reply

