Pursuing natural health & thinking beyond the superficial. Deconstructing Culture.

Hello!

It’s finally time here for the multitudes of wild berries to start ripening and whilst out on Wednesday I managed to find, eat and pick some. I didn’t wash my hands, yes there were insects and webs everywhere and yes I ate them even though they’ve grown with acid and chemtrail rain; it’s not something I’d recommend! I’d prefer organic or at least grown with clean(er) water but it was the only way I’d get fresh fruit.

I found blackberries, juniper, elderberries and hawthorn mostly and as other appreciative people will know they tend to grow together interwound and the blackberry bushes in particular just spread and grow huge.

Note about Blackberries - I eat them Red or Black but tend to find the soft/squidgy Black ones the sweetest and my favourite stage of ripeness.

Note about Blackberries – I eat them Red or Black but tend to find the soft/squidgy Black ones the sweetest and my favourite stage of ripeness.

Blackberries 2

Blackberry bushes just grow and grown on land and water

Blackberry bushes just grow and grown on land and water

Juniper reminds me a lot of cranberry in that it dries the mouth instantly and is bitter.

Juniper reminds me a lot of cranberry in that it dries the mouth instantly and is bitter.

Blackberries and Juniper growing together

Blackberries and Juniper growing together

I picked some elderberries too but for some reason can’t find the photos. Elderberry is also strong and some people’s stomaches don’t do too well with them.

Hawthorne berries are not for everyone, some people are allergic to them. They are so dry with some having a slightly chalky texture. Apparently people aren't supposed to eat the seeds and those with heart and circulatory issues are supposed to seek medical opinion beforehand. - I didn't pick any of these as I don't use them.

Hawthorne berries are not for everyone, some people are allergic to them. They are so dry with some having a slightly chalky texture. Apparently people aren’t supposed to eat the seeds and those with heart and circulatory issues are supposed to seek medical opinion beforehand. – I didn’t pick any of these as I don’t use them.

Hawthorn

I’ve been thinking about the hawthorn – anyone have any ideas? I don’t really want any tea infusions but I might make some jam with it later for mum. I’d love to make ‘fruit leather’ (similar to liquorish in texture) but haven’t the time, energy and I’d hate to leave the oven on for so long for something unessential.

Acorns! So cute! Though not ripe yet.

Acorns! So cute! Though not ripe yet.

Acorns 2

Things I do and don’t do when foraging:

1) Blackberries have thorns! Lot’s of them! So I try to be careful and successfully managed to pick them without being stung up until I got stung by three in a row lol.

2) I try not to disturb any bugs nearby or webs, I accidentally gave a spider a mini-earthquake and couldn’t stop its web from shaking afterwards – terrible.

3) If eating straight from the bush I blow the berries first.

4) I don’t pick any from sections where the leaves look ‘ill’ or where there’s water of questionable purity nearby (e.g. roadsides) and is stagnant.

5) I only eat what I know is edible; there’s a ton of edible wild plants (particularly common weeds), grasses and fruit but some are toxic. I have a cast iron stomach but it’s not worth the risk.

6) Berries (like most fruit/veg) can be used for all sorts of food and cosmetics so if I have more than I am going to use straight away they are easily pickled, made intro fruit spread or frozen for later uses – my favourite use being for desserts and sweet snacks!

7) I don’t pick from private gardens.

Yum!

Yum! Blackberries, juniper, elderberries.

I didn't pick many but had enough to make a smoothie (yay a fresh fruit smoothie!) I made it with crushed ice instead of still water to give it more body. It was sweet, tart and delicious.

I didn’t pick many but had enough to make a smoothie (yay a fresh fruit smoothie!) I made it with crushed ice instead of still water to give it more body. It was sweet, tart and delicious.

Love edible berries!

One of the groups of small birds socializing as we got back.

One of the groups of small birds socializing as we got back.

Leave a Reply

