Pursuing natural health & thinking beyond the superficial. Deconstructing Culture.

Black Jacquard Red Satin Vintage Inspired Dress

Ok no matter how frugal we are, we’re allowed moments of being pretty and missing a dress here and there!

I had to get rid of this dress a while back and something just made me think of it – ah it was so nice! It was a swing style dress and as a petite person it was very long on me but I didn’t feel the need to try and alter it as I think it looked fine. So there to all ye doubters and disbelievers of petite folk not being able to wear maxi or tea length dresses/skirts! I’ve always worn maxi and below the knee lengths and they always look fine, if necessary just alter things to your proportions and it’s a-ok.

This dress was made of jacquard and I love jacquard (and embroidered fabrics) – it could have done with lining but it wasn’t a big loss. The satin trim made it very feminine. *Sigh* Oh the velvet capelet coat I’m wearing there is gone too. Damn.

Anyway, I posted about it before HERE (November 9, 2012) but I just found some pics I had of it and (edited out the background of the indoor ones) in a moment of nostalgia here they are:

jacquard satin gown dress velvet capelet cape lolita coat

jacquard satin red black gown dress velvet capelet cape coat goth gothic victorian

jacquard satin red black gown dress velvet capelet cape coat goth lolita

jacquard satin red black gown dress velvet capelet cape coat goth

It was a couture prototype from HERE.

This is the shop photo:

Chicstar-Black-Jacquard-Red-Satin-50s-Dress

Leave a Reply

