Pursuing natural health & thinking beyond the superficial. Deconstructing Culture.

Hello! šŸ™‚

I’ve been posting a fair amount of desserts lately but I do honestly eat things other than confectionary! The funny thing is desserts aren’t my specialty, I’m actually not that great with them having spent time concentrating on my main dish skills where noodle dishes and soups are my forte and in which I love to incorporate fruit and various oils. That said I have another recipe for a dessert I’ve just made but I’ll see if I can post something a main meal or non-dessert snack next time šŸ™‚

OK on to the recipe and possible variations of.

Chocolate Oaty Biscuit Cake

Ingredients

8oz wholemeal flour
7oz Brown sugar
8oz oats
2oz cacao powder
5oz non-dairy butter
2tbsp hot water or non-dairy milk
1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
Optional – nuts
Optional – dried or glazed fruit such as cherries

Note:
1 ounce (oz) = 1 heaped tablespoon
tbs = tablespoon
tsp = teaspoon

chococlate-oat-biscuit-cake-ingredients

Instructions

1) Put all of the dry ingredients in a mixing bowl/pot and mix them well.

flour-oats-cacao-sugar-muscovado

chocolate-oat-biscuit-dry-mix

2) Pre-heat your oven to 180C / 350F or Gas Mark 4.

3) Grease a baking dish (with a bit of oil or butter) or use foil (no need to grease) – whichever is your preference.

4) Gently melt the butter on a hob on your cooker.

5) Whilst melting the butter, also heat a tiny bit of water or milk. Dissolve the bicarbonate of soda into the heated water/butter and add to the dry ingredients.

6) Stir in the butter and then mix until it all the of dry ingredients are sufficiently covered and ‘wet’.

chocolate-oat-biscuit-cake-wet-mix

7) Depending on what you prefer, you can either take out dollops of the mix and adjust them into biscuit shapes on your baking dish or if you’re like me you can just put the whole lot in the dish in one go.

chocolate-oat-biscuit-cake-uncooked

8) Place high up in the oven (but not at the very top – hot air rises) and cook for 15min. If you have a fan assisted over 10min may be better.

9) When the time is up, take them/it out of the oven and leave to sit for 40min-1hour (depending on how long you can wait).

chocolate-oat-biscuit-cake-cooked

10) If you didn’t make biscuit shapes you can cut the ‘cake’ into slices before leaving it to cool. I personally prefer slices as I find them easier to dip into my tea.

chocolate-oat-biscuit-cake-slices

NOTES

I’ve used muscovado sugar as that is what I had available however muscovado is a subtle sugar and so the end result is subtly sweet, however if you use demerara, molasses or Golden sugar it should be sweeter and 7oz should still be enough.

If you’re not a fan of chocolate you can omit the cacao powder and either have very sweet biscuit cake or reduce the amount of sugar to 6oz. Also in that case you may want to reduce the butter, depending on your taste.

Thanks for looking and if you try this I hope you enjoy it! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

