Pursuing natural health & thinking beyond the superficial. Deconstructing Culture.

Hello world πŸ™‚

These pics were taken over the Friday 13th weekend last month, I went to stay over at a friends so the last ones were taken by her. I went for a Victorian style/look but only one piece is actually Victorian/vintage reproduction (the coat). The subtle pinstripe ‘skirt’ is actually an A-Line button up, pinafore dress of my mum’s from the 80’s, over a Black lace top for layering of a type that can be bought almost anywhere. The White corset style top is from Chicstar (I wore the Black one here) and the ‘belt’ is just an old ribbon (I find ribbons cheaper, less space and more functional than belts). The coat was from Preloved.co.uk a great site that’s been around for a long time where you can buy/sell and swap items. I really love full length coats so this was a great find, the fabric is like a faux suede, the collar sits on top of the capelet, it laces up at the back and billows nicely πŸ™‚

Victorian Pinafore Dress Corset Lace Up Top Ribbon Capelet Cape Coat Vintage Reproduction

Victorian Pinafore Dress Corset Lace Up Top Ribbon Capelet Cape Coat Vintage Reproduction

Victorian Pinafore Dress Corset Lace Up Top Ribbon Capelet Cape Coat Vintage Reproduction

Victorian Pinafore Dress Corset Lace Up Top Ribbon Capelet Cape Coat Vintage Reproduction

Victorian Pinafore Dress Corset Lace Up Top Ribbon Capelet Cape Coat Vintage Reproduction

Victorian Pinafore Dress Corset Lace Up Top Ribbon Capelet Cape Coat Vintage Reproduction

Victorian Pinafore Dress Corset Lace Up Top Ribbon Capelet Cape Coat Vintage Reproduction

and then sleepy before bed *(-_-)*

Fri13th-8

Here’s the shop photo for the corset style top (I say ‘style’ because it’s one of those tops meant to look like one but isn’t one, it’s not constricting).

Gothic Lolita Ruffle Corset Top

Gothic Lolita Ruffle Corset Top – comes in White and Black.
Standard Size $29.95
Plus Size $33.95

Comments on: "Retrospective Outfit Of the Day Semi Victorian" (13)

  1. Your coat is amazing and you layer so wonderfully.

    • Thank you, I’m glad you like it and lol I’m usually only comfortable when I’m mostly covered up if not all covered in layers lol. Thank you for stopping by! πŸ™‚

  2. Ahhh…the calssical black and white, it does always work. πŸ™‚ I like your skirt and the coat!

    • Totally agree, always the go-to combination with maybe a pop of colour lol Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate it and am glad you like the outfit!

  3. Wow you rocked this look girl! Pics are awesome!!!

  4. mtsedwards said:

    Okay, lady, you need to tell me where you work that you can get away with looking so fantastically outlandish! Coz then maybe I’d consider doing a career switch. πŸ˜€ You look phenomenal, as usual.

    • Lol the ‘trick’ is to wait a bit until everyone is used to you and show bits of interesting wardrobe at a time until they accept you as the ‘weird one’ πŸ˜› That said you have to start quite early on, even on the first day with some item of interest. One look at you though and all the students would know you’re the ‘fashionable/stylish/chic’ teacher which is a good reputation to have in a school πŸ˜€

      • mtsedwards said:

        Totally missed this reply. Probably because I forget to check the box that says “notify me”. LOL. Yes, you’re right; my kids do acknowledge I’m the ‘fashionable/stylish/chic’ teacher; I’m wondering how much longer I can keep that up, though. I’m not getting any younger. Oh, and I love how you sidestepped my initial question there, m’dear! ;p

  5. The whole outfit is wonderful but you cut such a striking figure in that coat. The snowy backdrop just added to the fabulousness!

Leave a Reply

