Pursuing natural health & thinking beyond the superficial. Deconstructing Culture.

Strange how things come full circle – like with last week’s dress being worn 16 years after I bought it. Today’s outfit is one I wore in March/April 2004 to see Phantom of the Opera, so almost 10 years ago. Serendipity eh. How time flies, except when you’re going through it.

There were slight differences; it was actually a diamante belt with bigger stones, the pants were wide leg but different and the eyeshadow was Blue back then. The shoes were probably more comfortable, my hair was darker, I was less jaded. But it’s practically the same in design/style.

A decade ago

Past0

The muscle… yeah not so photogenic and what’s with that facial expression? Lol none of those pictures came out right.

Past1

Unfortunately I didn’t have any photos of me by myself in the outfit hence the extra hands.

After

Black Mesh Zip Top Diamante Belt Cuff Wide Pants Trousers Green Nude Makeup

Black Mesh Zip Top Diamante Belt Cuff Wide Pants Trousers Green Nude Makeup

Black Mesh Zip Top Diamante Belt Cuff Wide Pants Trousers Green Nude Makeup

Black Mesh Zip Top Diamante Belt Cuff Wide Pants Trousers Green Nude Makeup

Black Mesh Zip Top Diamante Belt Cuff Wide Pants Trousers Green Nude Makeup

Black Mesh Zip Top Diamante Belt Cuff Wide Pants Trousers Green Nude Makeup

You know, I’ve said this a few times but there has to be some kind of link between the bloggers I get to know/post with and our outfits. I wore my outfit, thought of my post title and roughly what I was going to say, then went to look at the other blogs and voila! Synchronicity! Most of us have gone for the Black/dark look (checkout the post title of Marta from MimosasandFashion) in a fitted way with noticable ornamentation/accessories. Something in the ethernet and internet waves 😉

Other bloggers celebrating fancy friday

I just want to paraphrase Vanessa at Nessbow for a moment, she has many wise words but these latest apply to Dress Up Fancy Fridays. She says that getting out your glad rags on a Friday is a real pickmeup to the end of the week both as an instant mood enhancer because you’re wearing an outfit you like and makes you feel good but also as a boost after a long week. I find those words really heartwarming.

Vanessa at Nessbow

Wow I can't tell you how delighted I was to see this outfit - so funky and sassy. All that attitude and awesome print - totally love it!

Wow I can’t tell you how delighted I was to see this outfit – so funky and sassy. All that attitude and awesome print – totally love it!

Marta at MimosasandFashion

Another rockin' it lady, whatever her mood she just has the 'vibe' - one cool cat.

Another struttin’ it lady, whatever her mood she just has the ‘vibe’ – one cool, unflappable cat.

Maricel at MyClosetCatalogue

Ta-da! Look at that powerful pose and another lady who knows how to rock her outfit and look fabulous.

Ta-da! Look at that powerful pose and another lady who knows how to rock her outfit and look fabulous.

Nicole at HighLatitudeStyle

Nicole's wearing her favourite sheath dress, a classic shape, colour scheme and print that as she says ' can go from sophisticated to girlie to street style.'

Wearing her favourite sheath dress; a classic shape, colour scheme & print that as she says ‘ can go from sophisticated to girlie to street style.’

Sarah at PlusSizeProud

PlusSizeProud 28 Feb 2014

She calls this outfit ‘Venus in Blue Jeans’ – don’t you just love that? She’s shown that jeans can be dressed up especially if you’re someone that rarely wears them (myself included). Love the scarf bow!

Camila at TheGeekChick

Smart and chic? Very in classic monochrome colour blocs yet with feminine details. Comfortable yet classy.

Smart yet comfy? Very in classic monochrome colour blocs yet with feminine details. Girl and cat match 😀

I love all the details on their clothes and how they smoothly fit into the style and flow of the outfits – and most importantly how they are worn, with flair!

Feeling a little more upbeat now – here’s an episode of the awesome Detentionaire, a revealing yet concealed cartoon – dark side of the moon anyone? 😉

Comments on: "OOTD: Dress Up Fancy Friday Slinky Black and Sparkles" (12)

  1. […] up to: Dress Up Fancy Friday,  Fashion Favorite Friday, Friday’s Fab Favorite, What I’m Loving […]

  2. mtsedwards said:

    Oh my goodness! How did that happen that we all wore black? And sparkles? We are blog soulmates! I definitely appreciate Fancy Fridays because it makes me maintain the energy and enthusiasm of the week. In the past, I’d be flagging and dragging, using Friday as the end-of-the-work-week excuse to be bummy. But as they say, you are what you wear and when I dressed down, I ended up making myself feel dreary and down in the dumps. So thank you for providing us all a vehicle for verve. I look forward to sharing a bit of the interweb with you and the ladies every vendredi.

    P.S. I think I prefer the now Dolly to the then Dolly. The then Dolly looks profoundly too cool and intimidating for little ol’ me. ;p

    • Ha those are just weirdo photos 😛 I’m totally cooler now well ummm, maybe 😉 but I’ve always been as tough as nails or those old boots that people hold on to; gotta be in this world!

      I know what you mean, I’m very grateful that you suggested making Fridays into a linkup – it’s something special 🙂

      Viva la Vendredi!

  3. Mine is up now hun! x

  4. It’s fantastic that our outfits have all coordinated yet again! There must be some kind of psychic link between all the Fancy Friday bloggers.

  5. Hey, thanks for your lovely comment earlier.

    I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award.

    https://luceluxelifestyle.wordpress.com/2014/02/21/n-o-m-i-n-a-t-i-o-n-v-e-r-s-a-t-i-l-e-b-l-o-g-g-e-r/#more-382

    xx

    • You’re welcome, thank you so much and super congrats to you! That’s very kind of you, thank you again – I’ll go checkout your post now 🙂

  6. Love your black kitty in the background! I have one that looks just like yours! Her name is Lulu!

Leave a Reply

