Pursuing natural health & thinking beyond the superficial. Deconstructing Culture.

Today’s outfit is also featured in my last post for being an outfit inspired by a quote(s) from a book, you can see the arty/philosophical versions that I made (and actually consider more truthful) HERE as this post features the candids from this virtual reality we live in…

The main part of the outfit is the top which has printed on it the words ‘”And your point is…..” T-shirts for women that take no crap.’ A partial statement that can be a question and/or a demand seeking an explanation, truth, wisdom, enlightenment and/or perhaps a summary. At first I couldn’t remember when I bought this top thinking it sometime between my late teens and early 20’s but then I recalled wearing the other of the pair that I bought during college. So I at least bought it when I was 14-16 (and there’s no bobbles or signs of wear of them – quality or what) from the ever awesome, eclectic, and formerly infamous Camden Town Market(s) (it’s changed a lot since then, having been renovated after the controversial fire). There was a stall there for a short time that only sold these tops though strangely I couldn’t really find many that I was ‘into’ at the time but since they were doing a ‘2 for £10’ deal at the time I bought two. The other says ‘You say I’m a bitch like it’s a bad thing’ yeah… Let’s just say I wear it as an under layer nowadays. That said if it went on and explained the cultural use and background info of why the word is attributed to women as an insult, why many words are feminized and then used as insults and why it’s the word for a female dog being god spelled backwards and where the word ‘god’ comes from I’d probably wear it as an outer layer. The meanings of words like ‘live’ and ‘evil’ only seem like a coincidence or a joke.

For the record I have never intentionally been a stereotypical ‘b’, that doesn’t mean I haven’t acted flippant when I should have been more considerate. The times when I’ve obviously hurt somebody’s feelings carelessly I don’t forget or stop regretting them and I don’t repeat – thankfully they were never unforgivable and I apologized sincerely, tried to make up for it and make them genuinely feel uplifted. I’m not excusing myself, there are plenty of people out there who are nasty pieces of work consistently and think of themselves as good and decent or ‘normal’ and plenty around them who’d call them that too but I ain’t one of them. I bought that top because many people confused me with a ‘popular type’ and the connotations that go with that from being mean, exclusive or what is generally thought of as stupid and even if forced to credit me in any way it was always beneath them, in a jokey way or within a framework of acceptability/believability, others of course went the opposite way and denied and undermined outright not giving a damn about the consequences or because they relished it or to hide their own flaws and/or insecurities. People love to save face. Anyway…

The skirt was a cashback purchase and the hat belongs to mum from I don’t know how many decades ago 🙂 My roots blended in more with Red but the hat was necessary with Blonde for this Red/Black outfit otherwise I’d have looked far more ‘full on’ in the pics though it’s ok in person, on camera it looks very ‘vampy’ and that’s not me or what I aspire to be. That said, the way I wore the hat makes me look a bit like a chauffeur or air steward lol, driving M’Lady around which I would be doing (for mum) if I could drive.

Black Red T-Shirt Long Sleeve Slogan Top Satin Lace Up Goth Skirt Biker Cap Hat

Black Red T-Shirt Long Sleeve Slogan Top Satin Lace Up Goth Skirt Biker Cap Hat

Black Red T-Shirt Long Sleeve Slogan Top Satin Lace Up Goth Skirt Biker Cap Hat

Black Red T-Shirt Long Sleeve Slogan Top Satin Lace Up Goth Skirt Biker Cap Hat

I’ll be back… 😉

To update this post with links/pics of other bloggers I see celebrating Fancy Friday.

Have a Good Day One and All!

Other bloggers celebrating Fancy Friday

Vanessa at Nessbow

What can I say, for someone who has a feel for the alternative and born from a Goddess who does her own thing completely how can I not love this outfit!? I love that sub-style of goth that is fun and cute, not Lolita but still colourful and detailed. This outfit is also somewhat free spirited which I think suits Vanessa very well!

What can I say, how can I not love this outfit!? I love that sub-style of goth that is fun and cute, not Lolita but still colourful and detailed. This outfit is also somewhat free spirited which I think suits Vanessa very well!

Maricel at MyClosetCatalogue

Another cheerful outfit though in another way, very bright and from her post a bold move - a nice way to celebrate Fancy Friday!

Another cheerful outfit though in another way, very bright and from her post a bold move – a nice way to celebrate Fancy Friday. Love the use of light Orange through the outfit!

Camila at TheGeekChickBlog

Mixing tribal print with rustic comfort, an unusual and very interesting combination - fashion forward and of course fancy yet comfy works! I love the glow of the sunshine on her and in combination with the background in her pics.

Mixing tribal print with rustic casual, an unusual and interesting combination – fashion forward and of course fancy yet comfy works! I love the glow of the sunshine on her and in combination with the background in her pics.

Leah at MorningInk

Adorable in her lovely flowery dress made smart but quirky with the satchel and shoes yet edgy with the jacket. I'm likin' her sense of style and pops of colour!

Adorable in her lovely flowery dress made smart but quirky with the satchel and shoes yet edgy with the jacket. I’m likin’ her sense of style with the pops of colour and accessories! Love that necklace!

Smiles all round today with the bloggers featured today, very nice to see and feature for all you readers too! Remember to checkout their blogs for the full posts and the Fancy Friday theme is open to anybody who wants to give it a go!

Comments on: "OOTD Fancy Friday: Telling It Like It IS" (19)

  1. I like the full effect of the entire outfit because it’s reminiscent of so many different things! The skirt is really cool and amazingly paired with that shirt.
    Camila

    • Thank you, I’m glad you like it and you’ve just reminded me of a girl I once knew who said “you never do anything without reason or meaning” in reply to an answer I gave her. Can’t remember what she asked, think it was just general conversation but she meant that in a admiring way which shook me for a moment but I appreciated it 🙂

      I’m glad the casual top with the dressy skirt worked too, the high waist helped!

  2. Strong women with attitude scare me. I better like your post before you hurt me!

  3. I’ve always been too afraid to wear a shirt with suggestive words such as “bitch” because I didn’t want to give the wrong impression. I admire that you convey your strength through your style and don’t depend on a word. Red is definitely your color. You absolutely glow in this color combo.

    My Fancy Friday post is up. Two weeks in a row, woo! I look forward to being on your blog every time I’m able to shoot photos 🙂

    • I understand what you mean, it’s not something I could wear as outwear often as it does take a certain mood to pull it off, confident but not flaunting so I generally wear it underneath and surprisingly a lot lol but then it does have more meaning to me and keeps me warm!

      Thank you for the compliments and I look forward to seeing and featuring your lovely outfits and those of the other bloggers as well 🙂

  4. Love that skirt, I’ve never seen anything like it! 🙂

    • Thanks! I bought it with cashback I’d earned at Chicstar.com and there’s a coupon for 30% off called ‘WINNER’.

      Thanks for visiting! 🙂

  5. Hi honey, you look so gorgeous! and your blond hair are super! nice to meet you!
    Un abbraccio,
    Eva e Valentina The AnarCHIC

    • And hi to you too 🙂 thank you for the wonderful compliments! I was glad to come across your blog today, so very nice to meet you as well!

  6. Love it!! I`ve come to love shirts like this more over the years, i think it`s a great conversation starter and i usually get a kick out of them, moreover- I need that skirt in my life!! lol so awesome!!

    • Thanks Shaaz and it’s so true about being a conversation starter! Lol I like your take on them, I think I’ll start appreciating them more 😀

      Lol I got the skirt (and quite a few other items I’ve worn on the blog) from a shop called Chicstar.com I’m an old member so have earned cashback (e.g. if you take a picture wearing one of their items bought and send it in to them you get $10 credit, it goes up in a weekly contest and if you win you get an extra $100). Plus as an oldie I have a discount coupon that I can share, anyone who uses it gets 30% off and I get 10% commission, if they just type WINNER at checkout. I don’t promote them anymore but the coupon is still good if you really need the skirt!

      • What??? you kick Azz!! I just took a peak at the website, and their stuff is amazing! And i recognize some of the stuff you’ve worn on your posts in the past. I’m going to take you up on that for sure! love vintage i already see about 5 things i want:)

      • Lol maybe I kick azz a little *power ranger theme tune head* 😛

        Yeah a lot of vintage inspired, alternative boutiques and photographers shop from there so there’s an interesting selection, which I can just imagine you’d look simply awesome in!

  7. Very cool!! You look so pretty!

    Viky — MySecretFashionPoison

  8. I love your attitude about the “b” word. I’ve been taken to be a “b” myself for my no-nonsense attitude. It’s so unfair how this is mainly directed against women–when a man doesn’t give a damn, he’s a boss, but when I don’t give a damn, I’m suddenly cold-hearted…

    Brittney

    Another Beautiful Thing

    • Language is definitely a tough and often multi-layered tool to the point of hypocrisy. Sometimes I think words are too precious to be wasted but then with all these double standards and contradictions, explanations and verbiage are needed even if just as a self-reminder! Thanks for visiting and your comment, all the best 🙂

Leave a Reply

