Pursuing natural health & thinking beyond the superficial. Deconstructing Culture.

Versatile Blogger AwardHmm it was quite some time ago that I was able to lean on my stomach and stretch my feet over my head to sit on my shoulders (a tad more than ‘Whole Wheel Pose’ in yoga) but I have been kindly awarded with The Versatile Blogger Award for still being somewhat supple as a blogger πŸ™‚

I’m grateful to Lauren at LuceLuxeLifestyle for the honor and humbly apologize for taking so bloomin’ long in responding. She awarded me near the start of my recent illness which took a long time to dissipate and I just didn’t get round to it nor felt upbeat enough to participate. Plus I couldn’t think of anything interesting to say in the personal facts section of the award and have been so tired I haven’t been keeping up with blog reading so as to pass this on. However the good Goddess that is my Mother has been pestering me, I mean gently pushing, to simply get on with it. Again thank you very much Lauren for the award and I enjoyed reading your own acceptance post which can be read HERE It’s always interesting to learn more about bloggers and spread a little joy in the blogosphere πŸ™‚

The Rules

β€œThe Versatile Blogger Award is an award given to you by your blogger peers, for writing quality posts that have somehow touched them, having good quality photographs, and the uniqueness of the subjects covered. The award is to honor the bloggers who bring something special to your life.”

If you wish to accept, the rules for the Versatile Blogger award are as follows.

– Display the award certificate.

– Announce your win and thank the blogger who nominated you.

– Present max. 13 deserving bloggers with the award.

– Link your nominees in this post and let them know of their nomination with a comment.

– Post 7 interesting things about yourself.

For my part

Seven facts eh, seven… Seven, seven! Seven dwarves? Seven days of the week, we’re in July the seventh month, seven colours in the rainbow? There’s a lot of interesting things about the number Seven that’s for sure and I just read an interesting article at the Daily Mail Online about the popularity of the number.

I’ll start and finish with the most interesting/fun stuff πŸ™‚

1) I’ve been thinking about the cultural popularity of bears lately and the ones that stood out the most for me as depicted below. The Care Bears (and friends) are probably some of the most favourite though icons like Winnie the Pooh and Paddington Bear still enjoy cultural grace and even The Wombles have made a comeback! (Which is great since they’re socially responsible, though we’re not entirely sure they’re bears, but bear-like anyway.)

There are also the well loved Gummi Bears, Ewoks and who could leave out the ever charming Sooty, Sweep and Soo?

My preference tends to be for those that aren’t as remembered anymore including Rupert the Bear, The Adventures of Teddy Ruxpin and something I remember finding funny but without any detailed recollection: Rainbow.

My favourite has to be these furry friends though, I just love the Paw Paws! (Listen to the theme tune at least πŸ˜‰ )

2) I asked mum for a fact and she said I Am the Fact (yes she speaks in Bold Italics, Underlined). Also I’m always looking worldwide for answers and have never found any other fact.

3) I was freegan for a year. I was already frugal and was brought up to only really spend on food and bills whereas everything else could be found and/or fixed, school meals were the bulk meals, and Mum would not accept gifts and would even get angry/upset if anything as spent on/for Her because it was a ‘waste’. I got lax in my mid-20’s when I got into buying second hand/vintage clothing from autions, fairs, charity shops etc but went back to losing more than gaining and have learned to be even more savvy. I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone or think such experience is ever necessary/essential or should happen in this world let alone the situation we have with countless born into it. I’m not one to be thankful for making the best of things and thinking of them as a valuable learning experience, I’d rather address the issues/beings/causes and support those affected rather than be grateful for the ‘generosity’/’favour’ of unethical and unfair living aka survival. Just because some of us learn from experience doesn’t mean we should have had to or such a situation should exist in the first place.

4) I was pretty robust as a child, had all kinds of falls, tumbles, broken/burnt/bruised bits and just got up, walked away or tried again or sometimes had the wounds treated if necessary. Never cried as a baby either apparently.

5) Some people seem to think I’m well groomed and some kind of ‘it/snooty/popular girl’ that they dislike on pre-first impressions, I say pre-first to basically mean ‘on sight’ a quick glance/read. *Tch* I’ve been in a salon twice in my life, both times as a awkward looking, skinny kid waiting for my mum to get her roots done – the one thing She allowed for Herself as well as makeup (which she bought cheap in bulk and kept way longer than recommended) but then many can attest that looking the way you feel you need to is a massive driving force, helps to fill holes in the soul and a creative outlet. However in accordance with the waste not, want not style She never went back and instead realized we could do it ourselves cheaper, quicker and using gentler/less ingredients. I’m glad, it took ages sitting there waiting. Needless to say I was helping and then doing Her hair and later She started doing mine. I can be ‘sleek’ and ‘elegant’ but it’s not me nor do I want it to be so even though I may look like whatever negative image stereotype that springs to people’s minds sometimes – I put more effort into health and value and any looks I have are hard kept/won. There’s way better looking folk, more symmetrical, less flawed, generally in better condition peeps out there as well as the greater number of people who put the effort into faking it til they make it or obsessing over it – some with more time, resources, intent, entourage of stylists/yes-people or fashion mags/media. In regards to the ‘it/snooty’ or uppity bit – I’m serious, dead serious whilst appreciative of lighter things but I’m not mean and as for popularity – I really couldn’t be bothered trying to wrangle and successfully manage that fickle monster.

6) Mum, kitty, feathery folk and myself have our own language – ok mostly I just mm-hmm my way through conversations with Mum though I get my fair share or wry comments in there. We can wake up and get through whole mornings using various grunts, huffs and sounds understanding each other without needing English/obvious meows and squawks.

Other times it’s silly like this morning when Mum was too tired to get up and her and Kitty were doing their usual ‘I’ve got my eyes on you’ silent, staring/adoring, competition/conversing. Mum kept dropping hints at me to cook and said she was too tired to even go to the bathroom and if Kitty could go for her. “You can’t do that kind of thing by proxy!”, Why not, it’s only fair, you would wouldn’t you Kitty?, *Kitty looks at me*, *I scowl and go cook*.

7) I’ve often thought about going to a fancy dress party and even had costumes ready but never got round to it! Recently I read an awesome post from Vanessa about visiting a comic con HERE and got round to thinking again about what/who I’d dress up as.

My favourites have always been:

She-Ra

She-Ra Princess of Power Strongest Woman in the Universe

But I could never wear that outfit.

Rogue

Rogue X-men Xmen X-Woman Xwoman

Again the outfit probably wouldn’t suit me.

Storm

Storm X-men Xmen X-Woman Xwoman

This one though really speaks to me. Sidenote – I don’t think Halle Berry had anywhere near the gravitas or stern yet kind/sincere aura to play Storm.

Wolverine

Wolverine X-Man X-men Xmen Xman

Probably wouldn’t need to do anything to it to feminize it, would have to think about what to substitute the blades with to wear them practically.

Rainbow Brite

Rainbow Brite Starlite Twink

The dress is too short for me but could easily be lengthened.

But I’ve really wanted to go as:

Death Discworld

I figured it’d basically be the Black ensemble/cloak, scythe, mask and LED eyes. *Sigh* my darling Death of Discworld, he’s such a hottie ❀

So I guess I’d be more like this:

Lady Death

Note – I prefer this outfit and the earlier ones she has in training to the usual string bikini thing she ended up wearing.

πŸ˜€

Passing the award on

As aforementioned I haven’t recently been keeping up to date the with the great many blogs out there let alone the ones on my reader so I can’t fill all 13 spaces for this particular award (though there’s another one in the works – the Fashionista Award for which I can add different bloggers to). That said there are many possible contenders with great blogs whether big, medium or small in size/following with a lot of interesting content and many who tend not to or do not wish to participate in blog awards as is their choice. πŸ™‚

1) Allison at Long and Luxe – she has a thought provoking, inspirational blog.

2) Lady Kate at Into The Stratosphere – lovely boho style and interests/reviews.

3) Stephanie at Budget Friendly Too – a wonderfully informative eco-health blog.

4) Camila at The Geek Chick Blog – a fun lifestyle blog with pearls of wisdom.

5) John at Story Time with John – Stories from his life as a teacher and traveler in a laugh out loud or stomach churning way, not satire yet tongue in cheek but heck truth is stranger than fiction.

6) Vanessa at Ness Bow – beautiful and insightful lifestyle blog.

7) Healthy Life Pursuits – what this blogger can do with a few, simple, wholesome ingredients is so creative, love the recipes.

Thanks again Lauren, to my readers and to bloggers/blogs that help inform and inspire me! ⭐

Comments on: "Versatile Blogger Award – Can You Pat Your Head & Rub Your Tummy?" (8)

  1. A convention or fancy dress party sounds like something that would be right up your alley. If you want to go as a female Wolverine then X-23 is always an option (although her costume is nowhere near as cool as Logans.)

  2. Oh my gosh! You’d be incredible as Storm. If you do end up putting together a Storm cosplay, please let me know because I’d love to see it.
    I’m actually working on developing my Susan Sto Helit costume for the Armageddon convention this year. If only you were in Australia, you could dress up as Death and we could go together.

  3. Awww I loved your answers!! Congrats to you!! xo

Leave a Reply

