Pursuing natural health & thinking beyond the superficial. Deconstructing Culture.

Fashionista Blog Award I was honoured enough to receive this award twice, first from Camila of TheGeekChickBlog and then from HuiMin from HuiMinxoxo; I don’t usually do more than one post on the occasion I receive an award more than once but since I’m a ‘slow poke’ I hadn’t got round to writing the reciprocation post to Camila when HuiMin awarded me too. Funnily enough I was going to nominate HuiMin for the award when I received it from Camila but she beat me to it! So in this instance I’m writing a post in thanks to both of the lovely ladies for their generous gestures πŸ™‚

Additionally I find this award to be quite unique in that the creator has a personal touch and likes to be informed as to whose been nominated and explains that this is a chain of recognition and thanks which I think is lovely. So I’ve duly left a comment on her post letting her know I was awarded and to my awardees, please feel free to do the same.

This is her link: http://thatchicfashionblog.wordpress.com/the-fashionista-award/ πŸ™‚

Rules:

Reference the blogger who nominated you

Answer 10 questions asked of you by the nominator

Link back to the award creator and nominate 10 others for the award

Inform the 10 nominees and ask them to comment on the creator’s page to enter to win the award

Give 10 questions for your nominees to answer

Questions to Me:

I’ve answered a mix from both of my nominator’s questions otherwise there’d be too many and some were duplicates πŸ™‚

1) What motivated you to start blogging?

Β I started this blog at first as a help guide for the rules, nuances and community know how for other members of Chicstar.com and as somewhere to keep and showcase my fashion designs for the ongoing design contest there where they ‘accept’ designs to make prototypes for auction and if successful/’wins’ the design is produced and sold in their store. There’s also a weekly customer photo competition and a myriad of other contests/initiatives that come and go. Six years later, a few hundred designs, 89 photos submitted I was the only old member who had never been accepted or won. So I decided to call it quits except a few comments now and then. I was a member for a long time before I started this blog so I just started posting my designs here from that point. No one can say I was a quitter, I kept trying to improve, be innovative and creative/versatile yet keep the target audiences in mind etc but when something is so deeply and/or publicly humiliating and frustrating it’s best to cut the ties.

After that the blog obviously took a different direction and has continued to do so opening up into various sections which I like because I post in more subjects. That doesn’t mean one topic doesn’t have enough scope to blog about as many of the theme focused blogs demonstrate very well but I’m a bit like a tree, I have roots and branches πŸ™‚ (maybe the odd woodpecker). It’s not a business blog either so I’m not looking for popularity, I like that I can keep a personal touch and post when I can/want instead of feel obligated or pressured.

I should have started blogging earlier really like a couple of people around me recommended, instead of nattering with them πŸ˜›

2) Favorite movies?

This is a handy question because I’ve already written my top five on my blog so I don’t have to think about it!

a. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s/Sorcerer’s Stone (2001),

1 - Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stoneb. 9 to 5 (1980),

nine to five 1980 jane fonda dolly parton lily tomlin judy violet dora lee franklin hartc. Short Circuit (1986),

Short Circuit Johnny 5 Stephanie Robot Friends Filmd. Without a Clue (1988), and

Without A Clue 1988 Detective Comedy Spoof Sherlock Holmes Dr Watson Ben Kingsley Michael Cainee) The Age of Innocence (1993).

The Age of Innocence Michelle Pheiffer Daniel Day Lewis Winona Ryder Edith Wharton Film Review Martin Scorsese 1993

Like many people I’ve seen a lot of films and so many are enthralling, moving, inspiring, visual treat/arty, intriguing, surreal etc but many of the ‘best’ or ‘most well made’ films are ones that I couldn’t/wouldn’t watch again or would have to feel ‘ready’ for usually because they’re overwhelming and/or harrowing; nowadays the ones that I like the best are heartfelt and if possible have a good laugh involved.

3) What is you’re dream career?

I really don’t have those kinds of aspirations anymore, I’d just like to retire!

4) How do you decide on your outfit every day?

I try to think about it the night before but it’s also a balance between my mood and how appropriate an outfit would be for whatever I’m doing, so I could end up in ‘rough’ pants (e.g. skater/hiking/combats) and a cute/smart top lol. How healthy/fit I feel also comes into it, don’t want a fitted top if I don’t feel I’ve digested properly for example. That said I think if you’ve got the right amount of flair for yourself the exact details of what you’re wearing don’t matter as much.

5) How much do you spend on shopping for fashion items each month?

Nothing, nil, nada – haven’t bought fashion items in I dunno two years now I think – oh wait I bought some socks a couple of months ago.

6) What kind of shoes do you prefer?

Comfortable, strong/durable, with at least an inch heel or all over sole as I can’t wear flats and with enough ‘give’/bounce to take the weight and not throw it back up through my bones as I’m walking. I’ve never been a stiletto person, though I can tolerate platforms and wedges but I really prefer curved soles on a good study shoe which is unlikely to buckle. I have four pairs of shoes, one pair of boots and one pair of slippers; all Black so versatile (not that I really care whether they clash a bit). Always been like that, had a pair of Gold wedges that I loved and wore to death but I find comfortable shoes in my size hard to find and I keep them well.

7) How would you revamp/spice up an outfit?

Accessories are the classic answer and rightly so but I tend to just change hairstyle and/or makeup which I guess are similar or extended versions of accessories, they fall into ‘adornment’ anyway :-). If I was feeling carefree… I’d give the item to Mum and it’d probably come back looking unrecognizable at first, She’s awesome at metamorphasizing/fixing things.

8) Describe you’re dream vacation?

Sailing as leisurely as possible down the Amazon on a small-ish/medium boat and hopefully don’t mess up and end ‘up the river without a paddle!’ That or cruise on a floating island. Then again there’s plenty of interesting places, the Hellhole in W.Virginia, the Great Blue Hole Belize, Bermuda triangle, the black forest… Ok I’ve got it – the natural hot spring baths that cover and overlap on the mountains in Turkey called Pamukkale

 cotton-castle-pamukkale-thermal-springs-baths-turkey

9) What are the goals for you’re blog?

I dunno, it pretty much does what it wants and goes its way, like my hair.

10) If you had the opportunity to interview a celebrity, who would it be?

None, I have an aversion to celebrities in general though not necessarily specifically and of those specifics there’s a few I’d like to get some bloody answers out of though it wouldn’t be a stereotypical interview.

Awardees:

This is a particularly difficult award to pass on because there are so many amazing, interesting and creative fashionists out there who put a lot of effort into their wardrobe and image. Though of course fashion blogs are also about personal style, tips as well as the presentation and weather/lighting permitting (and assuming we wake up with generally decent skin and hair functioning instead of looking like lightening struck us) good photography! I particularly appreciate fbloggers who keep, re-use, upcycle, recycle, donate and thrift clothing and those with an interest in ethical/fairtrade/eco fashion.

Taking fashion photography of oneself also takes an amount of confidence and self-acceptance which doesn’t come naturally to us all. I wasn’t originally into personal photography and absolutely shied away from the camera as well as disposed of pics I came across with me in them lol so the only ones I had were kiddy and annual school photos. Then I was forced into having to get used to taking pics due to a long distance relationship and learned a fair bit realizing I had to send the good with the bad, candid with posed, and different types from grainy webcam to clear daylight. This was before the days of selfies and it’s true to say I still only sent a bunch periodically rather than continuously but I do know how much work goes into taking photos especially ones that you want to keep. So without further ado here are the awarded fashionists for you:

Shaaz at MizShaazStyle – Super hawt and versatile, unusual style with great attention to detail.

Lovely lady at TheFashionHuntress – A nice, cool breath of air style wise – elegant/casual chic.

Mindy at TheGeekySeamstress – A creative and nimble fingered cosplayer, great costumes!

Leah at LeahPereyra – A lady who displays boho, wearable chic very well.

Lovely ladies at IWearMySariwithJeans – Their name says it all really; grand detail effortlessly mixed in, decadent photography.

Dapper dude at WellDressedGeek – He’s well dressed, dapper and puts mood into his photography.

Nadia at ListenGirlfriends – Hard hitting, on point with thought provoking fashion and ethical items in general.

Stephanie at SheisSoEco – Bringing attention to eco fashion and beauty brands and looks lovely doing it.

Katie at ThriftYourHeartOut – The lady loves thrifting, a pro showcasing and styling her finds for others.

Eliseba at DoodlesDoodads – A thrifter with dreams, interesting thoughts and of course style.

My questions for them

1) At what age did you know you were a fashionist, or knew you would be one day? (let alone blog about it!)

2) What’s the no:1 thing f-blogging has taught you about writing/presenting to an audience?

3) Do you machine wash items labeled ‘hand wash’ or ‘dry clean’ only? πŸ˜‰

4) Do you consider yourself a savvy or impulse buyer, or a bit of both?

5) What is your favourite trend; e.g. neon, colour blocking, monochrome, pattern mixing, leggings, big accessories, socks with sandals!?

6) What is your least liked or just most disliked trend?

7) What are your pet peeves or no:1 pet peeve about fashion, be it the industry or how it impacts society? E.g. ever changing sizing, fast fashion, keeping up with the catwalk etc

8) What’s your favourite thing about your style?

9) What you’re least liked thing about your style that you’d like to change/improve?

10) If you could have helped come up with one of the major fashion innovations/trends in the past, which would it have been?

Then just for a bit of fun

Some oldies but goodies.

Some of my worst styling:

Yeah that jacket never got worn again (and pvc is an environmental no-no)

Yeah that jacket never got worn again (and pvc is an environmental no-no)

Thou shalt not wear puffer jackets (unless ski-ing or it's really cold, again what's up with that fabric?)

Thou shalt not wear puffer jackets (unless skiing or it’s really cold and in the right size! Again what’s up with that fabric?)

This next outfit started out ok and then ETphonehome :-S see sometimes adding accessories and mixing patterns doesn’t work!

Not sure about:

I quite like the idea of wearing t-shirts under blazers but I’m not sure

picture 249

Best:

On the flipside, unfortunately I don’t have pics of what I consider my best outfits but here are some of my faves since starting this blog:

Navy Denim Stripe Jeans Turtle Polo Roll Neck Turtleneck Rollneck

Indian Sari Sequin Skirt Black Retro Halter Top

Ruffle Check Brown Blouse Black Fishtail Skirt

Fashionists and non-fashionists alike we all make faux pas and then at other times it all comes together πŸ™‚

Thanks for the award and for reading πŸ™‚

Comments on: "‘Does My Bum Look Big in This?’ – Fashionista Award :-)" (8)

  1. This was a great read Dolly! I’m glad you had fun with it πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks again, Dolly!! And congrats to you! Well deserved!!

  3. Worst stylings? I rather like the PVC one. Phwoar.

    • Yes well I can guess why you like it but that doesn’t make it tasteful πŸ˜›

      I had one of me wearing a floral dress with tights matching the main colour and a capelet in the secondary colour which looked cute though also silly, but couldn’t find the photo πŸ˜•

  4. Hi! It is an honor to be nominated by your blog πŸ™‚ Love your blog and I will be following, thanks again! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

