Pursuing natural health & thinking beyond the superficial. Deconstructing Culture.

International Moment of Laughter Day

They say laughter is the best medicine, which is probably why there’s also a phrase that says we always have reason to cry afterwards (laughing or smiling). Ok, ok that’s too dour.

The first thing I thought of when I heard of today’s ‘day’ was jokes; now I’m no good at jokes, I told Mum her epidermis was showing the other day but the joke was on me because of course she knew the meaning (even though I said it fast and flippantly). “Where?” to which I could only say “um”. That’s for using a kid’s joke 😉

I’m better at making others laugh in general conversation, I can’t really make up jokes but hey we’re both big fans of comedy that isn’t trashy or involving pranks. As long as it’s not parody or satire for Mum, she’s so straightforward she doesn’t ‘get’ or appreciate it, which is really a virtue. I like it though, if we’re going to cry for every laugh or more then I’m damned well going to laugh big… Just not maniacally.

For the sake of accuracy, today is also:

Look up at the Sky Day – if you see through the pollution and Blue diffusion 😉

Reach as High as You Can Day – I’d like to but may end up just standing on tip toe! Otherwise I’d need space transport!

Black Day – this is interesting, I knew about White Day (in conjunction with a different take on Valentines) in some parts of Asia but not Black Day.

Black Day is celebrated on April 14, 2015. Black Day is a South Korean informal tradition for single people to get together and eat jajangmyeon (noodles with black bean sauce); sometimes a white sauce is mixed for those who did not celebrate White Day. The idea is that those who did not give or receive gifts on Valentine’s Day (February 14) or White Day (March 14) can get together and eat jajangmyeon, white Korean noodles with black bean sauce, to celebrate their singledom. (With material from: Wikipedia)

Ex Spouse Day – No way josé.

So in keeping with the spirit of this post here’s a video of a funny show with an apt title and bloody miserable theme song!

Leave a Reply

