Pursuing natural health & thinking beyond the superficial. Deconstructing Culture.

So it’s taken practically 33 years but I’ve finally found the meaning of my name *tch*.

I was always the odd one out, Mum’s name is the ultimate creator mother god Lalit[h]a and my sister’s name means goddess and I was ‘Dolly’. Hmmmmmm. We all know the modern connotations of that and I in particular don’t appreciate all the popular burlesque nicknames. ‘Dolly’ along with being petite, cute, clever and independently minded is an easy name to get picked on for in school. It was only in adulthood that I learned to appreciate it and realized other adults liked it too not just old geezers greeting me singing ‘Hello Dolly’. Actually, it wasn’t just old and now that I’m 32 older men greeting me with that. One time I went to Camden Indoor Market (pre-the controversial fire and massive tardis renovation, when the indoor marker was that building next to the Locke market), stood at the entrance to the ground floor book section and said (in my mind) “the book that is for me, come to me” because I didn’t have time to look through them all. The first book that I picked up and opened at a random page had ‘Hello Dolly’ (again the film) written in it.

Anyway, Dolly comes from the ‘Dor’ pre-fix, it’s most easily referenced meaning is the Greek ‘Gift/Vision of God’ and over the years people near me have made inferences to Dorothy and the Oz stories. However, Mum told me it meant ‘flower’ in Indian but we could never find it let alone the type of flower *tch*. But thanks to Indo-European research I found that in Sanskrit it means ‘truth’ and ‘tree’ under ‘dori’ (which is great since parrots have a hard time pronouncing the ‘l’s using ‘r’s instead and strangely enough Mum used to buy me the ‘Dorrie the Little Witch’ books). So ‘truth tree’ is me :-). I would like to say that explains why Mum loves apples and why they seem be dropped on me (seriously) but Mum has to be contrary as usual because she only likes bitter, green apples and its red apples that seem to land on me. But overall I like being thought of as dependable guardian giver/seeker of knowledge (who has an abundance of flora and fauna 😀 ). Happy day. (If I could axe the surname, be known as a first name only… The middle name is shared by all the females and means princess, it’s a cultural thing.)

Now Mum’s calling me ‘tree hugger’. Hey I’m not the hugger, I’m the tree. So there. Respect. (I like hugs from certain pre-approved people only, even though some try to build habitats in my hair, groom my face by climbing on it with talons, shout in my ears and try to eat from my mouth.) That said Mum used to like a circle of trees that looked like women…

Tree woman

Pic credit – http://www.ultraforgeminiatures.com/?page_id=60 Apparantly one of the tree people collection – the wrath of mother nature herself!

Leave a Reply

